Drabble Reviews – Silver Surfer #1, Deadly Class #3, and Tomb Raider #2

silversurfer1

Silver Surfer #1 (Slott, Allred, Allred/Marvel) – 8.5 out of 10

As with all other reviews, let’s start this off with a disclaimer. I’m new to this comic thing. I’ve never read a Silver Surfer comic in my life (though I might go back to it at some point, as with all other series). In this case, I think this is part of what is coloring my opinion of the comic. I think it’s great.

My expectations had nothing to do with Silver Surfer as character (other than the hilarious hot dog scenes in Fraction and Allred’s FF), and everything to do with my appreciation for Allred’s art. I’m not as familiar with Slott’s writing (I haven’t yet tried Superior Spider-Man), but from what I’ve seen so far, I enjoy it. I think the zippy one-liners from the Surfer were great, and the whole premise of the story was fantastical in the best way. Right from the get-go, with Dawn and Eve wishing on a “star”, I felt like something special was being set-up. I thoroughly enjoyed the parallels between SS and Dawn (and this was accompanied by a few great layouts and panels), and think that Slott has successfully created a world relatively insulated from the rest of the Marvel universe so far. My only complaints are that the writing felt a bit too…contrived at times. There were a few lines spoken by the aliens that felt stilted, and the whole “Dawn/Eve” thing was a bit too overdone. Perhaps the set-up will all make sense down the line, but the story felt too fleshed out in some parts at the cost of total understanding in others, especially for new readers. Altogether, pretty decent. Writing – 4/5.

Let’s start with the bad. I’m not sure if it was just the paper it was printed on or the artists’ intentions, but the pages didn’t “pop” quite as much as I’d hoped they would. With the amount and kinds of colors being used, I was ready to get a happy migraine (if there is such a thing), but the art seemed a bit muted. However, my expectations for the rest of the art did not disappoint. While it wasn’t Allred’s best, it was far from his worst. So far, he has managed to capture Silver Surfer’s expressions perfectly, which is a hard feat considering the white void that is the Surfer’s eyes. The space-scapes are phenomenal (and definitely where Laura Allred’s colors shine through), and the art truly brings this cosmic story to life. He makes the board-riding look smooth and natural and the scenery is just downright gorgeous. Basically, if Allred’s drawing aliens, I’m there. Art – 4.5/5.

deadlyclass3

Deadly Class #3 (Remender, Craig, Loughridge/Image) –  8.5 out of 10

This issue was a departure from the slow burn of the first two installments. While the first two issues felt like double the length of a normal comic, this issue was much more fast-paced and action-oriented. And it still worked and was still awesome. I’ve come to really appreciate Remender’s writing, whether through Uncanny Avengers, Uncanny X-Force, Captain America, Black Science…whatever he’s writing, I’m normally reading (I know, I gotta go read Fear Agent). I find I get lost inside the heads of the characters in a way that is far more introspective than other comics I read. Remender’s graceful and open narration really suits Deadly Class, the story of a misfit thrown into a pit of weird assassin-y adventures. This issue sees Marcus doing something we have yet to really see…having fun. Remender writes that happy just as well as the angst. And, as usual, just as you think everything is going to be okay, the other shoe drops. That ending…People have been commenting about how unlikeable Marcus is at times. Reading through this issue, I thought about how I couldn’t understand that because he was finally getting more understandable. But that ending…I humbly eat my words. Writing – 5/5.

The art suits this style of story-telling, which is why it’s hard for me to criticize it. Craig has a unique style, but sometimes the characters just look…creepy, and in a way that I’m not sure was entirely intended. Craig clearly has these characters down pat; they all have a unique style and feel and the body language is depicted masterfully. But sometimes, the little things throw a scene off. Mostly in the eyes and mouth. It’s not bad art…in fact, like I said, it’s very good and accompanies the story well. I think with time it will grow on me, much like Pulido’s slightly off art. One thing that’s definitely great though, is the coloring. The bright colors portray that 80s vibe, making blood smears look like a Bowie get-up. Overall, it’s thumbs up art, that I think will only get better with each issue. Art – 3.5/5.

tombraider2

Tomb Raider #2 (Simone, Selma/Dark Horse) – 7 out of 10

Gail Simone has consistently remained one of my have-to-read writers. Before I really got into comics, I was reading old trades of her Birds of Prey run and was always enthralled. When I heard she was at the helm of one of bringing one of my all-time favorite video games ever to the comics realm, I was over the moon ecstatic. So far, she has delivered. While it isn’t her best writing ever it picks up the tone of the game perfectly. The dialogue is a little strained, but it’s not far off from the way the game sounded. Earnest, full of life, faithful…Simone captures the young Lara from the game, pulling her right off the screen and onto the page. The supporting characters are also full of the same life that made you care for them in the game. Simone is a fan of Tomb Raider, and it shows. She’s clearly having fun advancing the story in preparation for the next game, and I’m ready to explore the next installment. I think what readers need to keep in mind is that, much like game, this is a slow journey of discovery. Just try and find the treasure within. Writing – 4.5/5

Perhaps the beautiful graphics of the game spoiled me, but the art is where I feel a little shaky. The new direction for Lara Croft has defined a young heroine that is determined, brave, and She-Hulk strong. The art just doesn’t do the character justice. Part of what makes Lara so great is that you feel her in every way you could hope for. You hurt when she hurts, you root for her when so takes those leaps of faith. But the way this Lara is depicted falls flat. The scenery and backgrounds are detailed and beautiful, but the characters themselves lack important details that facilitate an understanding of who they are. Maybe I’m expecting too much because I have a hard time separating from the game, but I hope the art improves soon. (By the way, the covers are gorgeous. I need those blown-up and decorating my dwelling, stat.) Art – 2.5/5

Leave a comment